Useful Information

Currency

The national currency of the country is the Armenian dram (AMD). Shopping in foreign currency is prohibited. You can easily exchange your currency at any bank (that work mainly until 16: 00-17: 00) or at an exchange office, which are located in almost all large supermarkets (many exchange offices work seven days a week).

The currency rates can be viewed on the CBA official website (www.cba.am) and (www.rate.am).

Safety in Armenia

According to the results of various international investigations, Armenia is one of the safest countries. Tourists can walk around Yerevan and travel across the country without fear at any time of the day or night.

Communication, Internet

There are 3 mobile operators in the country: Beeline, VivaCell-MTS, U-Com (www.beeline.am; www.mts.am; www.ucom.am). SIM cards of mobile operators can be purchased directly at the airport or at almost every store and newsstand in the country. It is quite simple to recharge the cash balance; you can buy a special card or transfer money to your account through the terminals at any store.

The international dialing code of Armenia is +374.

Emergency telephone numbers

911 – emergency service
102 - Police:
103 - Medical Assistance:
101 - Fire Service:
187 - Airport Zvartnots:
186 - Weather

Diplomatic missions in Armenia - https://www.embassy.am
+374 (10) 56-74-27 – The Embassy of Russia in Armenia

Diplomatic missions in Armenia

https://www.embassy.am
+374 (10) 56-74-27 – Embassy of Russia in Armenia

Population

The population of Armenia is about 3.5 million. More than 97% of the population is Armenian – ethnic Armenians.  The most significant minorities are Kurds, Greeks, Assyrians, and Russians. 

Language

The state language in Armenia is Armenian, it is spoken by 97.7% of the population. The Russian language in Armenia does not have an official status, but it is widespread, it is spoken by more than 80% of the country's population. Russian is a compulsory subject for study in Armenian schools.
The modern alphabet of Armenians was invented by the scientist, monk, enlightener Mesrop Mashtots in the 5th century (405-406 years). In 2005 was celebrated the 1600th anniversary of the Armenian alphabet - one of the oldest in the world.

Religion

Armenia is the first country to adopt Christianity as a state religion in 301. More than 98% of the population practices Christianity, most of them are adherents of the Armenian Apostolic Church.
In the territory of Armenia and Artsakh, there are 6 Russian Orthodox churches.

Полезная информация

Виза в Армению

Гражданам стран СНГ въезд в Армению безвизовый:  необходимо наличие заграничного паспорта, срок действия которого  истекает не менее чем через 3 месяца после предположительного возвращения.  Для граждан России достаточно наличие внутрироссийского паспорта.

Для дополнительной информации можете посетить официальный сайт Министерства иностранных дел: https://www.mfa.am/ru/visa, https://evisa.mfa.am/

Валюта

Национальной валютой  Армении является армянский драм (AMD). Торговля в иностранной валюте запрещена. Вы можете легко обменять вашу валюту в любом банке (которые работают в основном до 16:00-17:00) или в обменном пункте, которые рассположены на каждом шагу и почти во всех крупных магазинах (многие обменные пункты работают круглосуточно и без выходных).

Курсы валют можно посмотреть на официальном сайте ЦБА (www.cba.am), и (www.rate.am).

Безопасность в Армении

Армения, согласно результатам различных международных исследований, является одной из самых безопасных стран. Туристы могут гулять по Еревану и путешествовать по всей стране без опасений в любое время дня и ночи.

Связь, интернет

В стране действуют 3 сотовых оператора: Beeline, VivaCell-MTS, U-Com (www.beeline.am, www.mts.am, www.ucom.am).  SIM — карты мобильных операторов можно приобрести прямо в аэропорту или в большинстве магазинов и газетных киосков страны. Пополнить денежный баланс довольно просто, можно купить специальную карту или же перевести деньги на свой счет через терминалы в любом магазине.

Международный телефонный код Армении +374

Телефоны экстренных служб

911 – Экстренная оперативная служба
102 – Полиция
103 – Скорая медицинская помошь
101 – Пожарная служба
187 – Аэропорт Звартноц
186 – Погода

Дипломатические представительства в Армении - https://www.embassy.am
+374 (10) 56-74-27 – Посольство России в Армении (Ереван)

Дипломатические представительства в Армении

www.embassy.am

+374 (10) 56-74-27 -  Посольство России в Армении (Ереван)

Население

Население Армении составляет около 3.5 миллиона человек. Более 97% населения Армении - этнические армяне. Наиболее значительные меньшинства – курды-езиды, греки, ассирийцы, русские.

Язык

Государственным языком в Армении является армянский, на нём говорит 97,7 % жителей страны.
Русский язык в Армении  не имеет официального статуса, однако широко распространён, им владеет более 80 % населения страны. Русский язык является обязательным предметом для изучения в школах Армении. 
Современный алфавит армян был изобретен ученым, монахом, просветителем Месропом Маштоцем в  Vв. (405-406 г.г.). В 2005 г. отмечалось 1600-летие армянского алфавита - одного из древних в мире. 

Религия

Армения является первой страной, принявшей христианство как государственную религию в 301г. Более 98% населения исповедуют христианство, большинство из которых приверженцы Армянской Апостольской Церкви.  
На террритории Армении и Арцаха  насчитывается  6 русских православных церквей.